School governors form the largest volunteer group in the country. They are people from all walks of life, who care about children’s education and are prepared to work as a team to support their school and local community.

More than 9,000 people volunteer to be governors in Lancashire, bringing to their role experience of everyday life and a wish to help children and schools. They support schools in raising standards, by determining the conduct and direction of the school.

Effective governors do not need educational expertise but do need to be committed to their school, willing to ask questions and act as a critical friend. They also need to be able to work as an enthusiastic member of the governing body team. The Headteacher works closely with the governing body as its principal professional advisor. Governing body policy decisions will then be implemented by the Headteacher in the day-to-day running of the school.

For further information about the Governing Body for 2017 – 2018 please click here


Chair – Mrs Janet Huddart Vice Chair – Mrs Annemarie Briggs
 Mrs Sara Armstrong Dr William Aston
Mrs Lorna Boase Mrs Cis Brook
Mrs Barbara Drayton Mrs Julie Anne Garner
Miss Alyson Hackett Mr Peter Taylor
 Mrs Gemma Walling  Mr John Wilkinson